After a giant meal, the whole country seemed en route to something: doorbuster shopping deals, family and friends, another cocktail party, Christmas light displays, and to check off last-minute year-end errands. Nearly 20 years later, I’m here busily rumbling along with everyone else.  The hustle and bustle of this week has me feeling unmoored, so I’ve gathered five comforting weeknight meals that can be doubled to enjoy for lunch the next day and for guests that stop by unannounced. There’s decidedly grown-up mac and cheese, lentil soup, a quick and easy Instant Pot fish dish, and a spicy and fragrant beef stew.

New to Meal Planning? Start here! Need More Meal Planning Ideas? We Have You Covered!

I’m many miles away this year, so I won’t be waiting in line. I can still recreate these tender and crumbly filled cookies in my kitchen. Nutella or cinnamon sugar are my favorite fillings.