I planted a small blueberry bush earlier this spring, only to watch it slowly lose leaves down to a few bare stems. Visions of blueberry glory, dashed! We’ve moved the plant to a new location, a bit more shaded, and planted a new blueberry bush near it, so (and this where the eternal hope comes in) maybe we’ll have some lovely blueberries next year. In the meantime, blueberries are plentiful in the market, thank goodness. Usually I buy them by the double-basketful. And then eat them. This time though, inspired by a lovely blueberry sorbet I had in Austin, Texas, I thought I would try my hand at making some sorbet. So good! And really easy to make. The small additions of a little lemon zest (a bitter), lemon juice (an acid), and just a pinch of salt, brighten the intense blueberry flavor of this sorbet. Perfect for a hot summer day. Eat immediately (the sorbet will still be a little soft) or freeze at least a few hours to help firm up before eating. Eat soon after making though, as the sorbet will get progressively harder the longer it stays in the freezer. Serve with a few fresh blueberries and a sprig of mint. How to make ice cream without a machine - tips from David Lebovitz