But every now and then, something decent comes from all the insanity. One of my favorite memories from an otherwise mismatched roommate situation is learning how to make candy cane cookies.

What Are Candy Cane Cookies?

Though I have always loved to bake, my family wasn’t really into it — and the holidays were no exception. Holiday cookies were pretty much nonexistent in my home, and it wasn’t until I moved out that I discovered that holiday cookies were a thing. So, these cookies weren’t even on my radar until that fateful roommate pairing. We were still in our “honeymoon” period when he suggested we make candy cane cookies. I had no idea what he meant and thought they must be cookies made with crushed candy canes. But my roommate showed me the magic of rolling red and white cookie dough into ropes, twisting them together, and then shaping them into canes. I was enchanted and have never looked back. Eventually, our roommate situation grew toxic, and I moved out. I have no regrets about living with him, though. The rent was cheap, the apartment was spacious, and I have the forever gift of these candy cane cookies.

How to Freeze Candy Cane Cookies

These cookies freeze quite well, either unbaked or baked, for about a month. If unbaked, shape the cookies and arrange them close together on a baking sheet lined with parchment or a silicon baking mat. Freeze until the cookies are solid, then transfer to a freezer-safe, zip-top bag or other airtight container. No need to thaw; just bake from frozen and add an extra minute or two to the baking time. If baked, allow the cookie to cool completely, then package in foil and then in a freezer-safe, zip-top bag or other airtight container to protect them from freezer burn or from picking up freezer odors. A lot of recipes tell you to sprinkle crushed candy canes (real ones!) over the cookies right out of the oven. You can certainly do that, but I prefer to brush the cookies with an egg white wash and sprinkle them with sparkling sugar instead. The sugar sticks to the cookie because of the wash and makes the finished product more enticing than the average candy cane cookie.

1 egg white 2 tablespoons sparkling sugar

Scrape down the side of the bowl and beat in the egg until it is absorbed. Add the flour and beat until just combined and no more dry streaks of flour remain. Pinch off a 1-inch round piece of the white dough and roll it out to a 5-inch rope. Do the same with a piece of the red dough (make sure the ropes are the same length). Place the ropes next to each other and twist together. Transfer to the baking sheet and curve the top of the dough into a candy cane shape. Repeat with the remaining dough, spacing the cookies about 2 inches apart. These cookies will keep for a week or two in a sealed container at room temperature.