These are some dangerously addictive cupcakes.  After scoffing down a few, I had to send the rest into work with Chris as we were in danger of eating the lot in less than 24 hours! I first came up with this recipe for my friend Lucy over at her beautiful website Craftberry Bush.  She really is one of the most talented artists I’ve seen - she’s even got her own craft kits in the shops! Lucy generously let’s me post any recipes I write for her site onto my blog too, so I’m really chuffed to be sharing this recipe with you today.

We’re talking orange-infused raisins, a hint of spice, 3 whole carrots (which technically means these cupcakes are good for you – if you ignore the butter, cream cheese and sugar…..) and a creamy, sweet frosting, flecked with orange zest.

I’m pretty sure I could eat these things for breakfast every day, with a cup of steaming coffee (bliss).

Although they’ve got plenty of goodness in them in terms of the carrots, coconut oil, raisins and orange juice, you could make them even healthier by replacing the plain (all-purpose) flour with whole wheat.  They’ll still be moist and delicious (one of the great things about infusing the raisins in the orange juice). Have a great weekend everyone!  I’m determined to get my trainers on and go for a run over the weekend.  School holidays are too easy an excuse to miss those gym trips (and to push aside the mindful eating. Too. Naughty.) and I need all the help I can get when I’m eating cakes like this for breakfast!!

The Carrot and Orange Cupcakes Recipe:

 

Carrot and Orange Cupcakes - 14Carrot and Orange Cupcakes - 58Carrot and Orange Cupcakes - 95Carrot and Orange Cupcakes - 73Carrot and Orange Cupcakes - 60Carrot and Orange Cupcakes - 27Carrot and Orange Cupcakes - 55Carrot and Orange Cupcakes - 55Carrot and Orange Cupcakes - 28