I wanted to make something that would work well with fresh or frozen beans, so we could enjoy it during any season. In this creamy green beans with mushrooms recipe, we first lightly boil green beans (I used frozen), then toss them with cremini and shiitake mushrooms and onions that have been sautéed in butter. At the very end sour cream is added to bring everything together. If the sour cream seems odd, think of this as a stroganoff. With green beans. Okay, I’ll be the first to admit it. This is not the most attractive dish I’ve ever made. (The photo might be pretty, but that has more to do with the lighting than anything else.) In fact, I hesitated posting it, because, well, I like my food to look appealing. But, you know what? It tastes great! Even reheated leftovers. So, here’s my advice. Sprinkle it with lots of parsley and go for it.

More Great Recipes for Green Beans

Green Bean Casserole from Scratch Stir Fried Green Beans with Ginger and Onions Roasted Green Beans with Shallots and Pancetta Green Beans With Salsa Green Beans with Almonds and Thyme

Prep mushrooms while salted water is coming to a boil in step 1. Sprinkle with parsley and serve.